Newest

Archives

Notes

Email

Host
It's amazing - all of the work I've done with students through volunteering and the college of ed has not prepared me for this. These students will come to me, quite possibly, knowing nothing. Not their letters. Not their numbers. Maybe not even their shapes. Yet, somehow, over the next 180 days, they will be shaped and molded into knowing how to add and subtract, how to read, how to explore the world around them through the use of books and computers.

I'll be a part of it.

Not a huge part, mind you. I'm not the main teacher, just another helping hand in the classroom. I was excited at that prospect of having a position similar to the one I held last year.

The difference is, last year I worked with fourth graders. I'm used to them. You can give them an assignment and instructions, and they can do their own thing. They can be pretty responsible.

This year, I have kindergarten.

No responsibility.

No concept of sitting down and doing their work.

Heck, they don't even know how to get in a line.

They have a short attention span. About 15 seconds.

The same as a gold fish.

previous or next