Newest

Archives

Notes

Email

Host
Since my last entry, I've experienced two more subs, and both teachers stepping out of the room for about half an hour.

The kids really don't react well to that.

On a more positive note, I have about 4 students that no longer need my assistance in learning their names (order the letters go in, the names of the letters, and writing them). Yay! A few of them are really stuck, though. Nothing seems to be working for them.

Today I tried pulling them completely out of the room, as part of the problem is distractions. It seemed to work much better.

On an even better note, I feel like the coolest teacher ever today. The one student I'm working with has a name 7 letters long, and has trouble with all but two of them. Grasping at straws, I asked him what his favorite song was. He told me it was Star Wars (really, the Imperial March, or Darth Vader's theme). Off of the top of my head, I managed to work the letters of his name into the theme, and we're now singing it. It seemed to get some small results today. We'll see if it keeps working. =)

previous or next